Fabric flowers: wiring roses

D thinks I’m taking it to far in my attempt to make my flowers relatively realistic. I simply want to make sure I get the form of the flower and the shape of the foliage right… I really struggled to find good images showing stems and leaves clearly until I had a brain wave; artificial flowers – how do they do it? … Like this:

Images from Bloom

I have a whole pile of green fabrics to choose from when if comes to foliage (which is proving a bit of a headache), but for the burgundy cord roses I chose a dark green/white tweed that I felt complimented the cord well;

…as for how I made them, sort of trial and error and thinking how real roses look…

I first attached the wire to the cord rose; then cut the edge of a circle shape (made in green tweed) into jagged points, through which I pushed the wire and sewed the tweed onto the bottom of the rose petals (tweed hides the stitches well). I then wrapped florists tape around the wire building it up around the base of the rose. To make the leaves; I cut leaf shapes from the same tweed, sewed them onto thinner wire and again covered the wire and base of the leaf with florists tape. To finish, more florists tape* attached the leaf stems to the main flower stem.

For the cream roses I chose the contrasting texture of a two-tone satin:

…and for the burgundy velvet a contrasting, fine, lining fabric in olive green;

As both these finer fabrics clearly show the stitches, I formed the stitches into lines spreading out to the point of the sepals**. This is possibly one of those times when I’m taking things too far, as these details might not be seen, but I’ll know they’re there and if I want to use (& possibly sell) them individually, I feel this is something I need to do… I think they look pretty awesome individually – but then I guess I’m slightly biased.


.

* very useful stuff
** new word of the week – I had to check google images to remember the right word; biology class was too long ago!
This entry was posted in fabric flowers, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

