Fabric flowers: wiring ranunculus

After having similar problems finding good images of ranunculus stems and leaves I again turned to artificial flower examples;

Images clockwise from top left: Irresistible Decor, Bloom, Elmstead Nursuries

The leaves are much spikier and the stems much thicker than the roses, so I made mine in the same fashion. For the green-white ranunculus (first seen here), I chose the contrasting texture of a woolen tweed, in a complimentary shade of olive.

For the amazing red-purple ranunculus (introduced here) I chose a similar texture, but went with a darker tweed though it has highlights of all the ribbon colours in it. This fabric is one of my favourites but sadly it’s very coarse so I can’t see myself saving any for cushion making; just the leaves of what are possibly my favourite flowers so far…

As they could look, almost individually;

This entry was posted in fabric flowers, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

